The need for sleep

Sleep is good. A necessary use of somewhere in the ballpark of 6-8 uninterrupted hours. (seemingly unfathomable)

I’ve been staying up late/up early in the morning for the past few days with a heavy work load from the other job and to get a new show complete (the spring florals).

Lack of sleep makes me irritable and feel crummy. The lack of time makes me eat junk food which makes me irritable and feel crummy. I then can’t focus and make poor decisions which makes me irritable and feel crummy. I get frustrated b/c my art and creative juices hit a roadblock which makes me irritable and feel crummy.

As this process repeats (every few weeks with a deadline looming) it’s so hard to break habits. Or, to put a positive spin on this, it’s hard to build new habits.

I broke my habit last night with a night of fabulous dinner and theater with my good friend Sarah, punctuated with dripping delicious chocolate fondue. There’s nothing much that can’t succumb to that. (Thanks Sarah!)

Here’s another tulip piece done in the frenzy of last week. I’ve been working on loosening up my brushwork, knowing that every little detail need not be revealed. To help me, I’ve chosen to use only larger brushes on this larger painting.

Tulip Choir (sold)
16″x20″
oil on canvas

Tulip Buds TracyWall(c)08

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, My Art, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.