Picasso Quote

Picasso QuoteI’ve been exploring varied styles in my paintings to find various niches that may fit.  Hanging in my studio is a quote from Pablo Picasso that says, “The fewer the lines, the more important each line.”  I’m extrapolating that to also include broad brushstrokes, so I’ve tried to use fewer carefully placed strokes.

Here’s another cowboy hat done in the spirit of the Picasso quote.  I especially like the rough strokes of the background and the shadows between the highlighted cheek and nose!

Cowboy Hat #6
12″x16″
oil on panel

Cowboy Hat #6

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, My Art, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Picasso Quote

  1. Con says:

    A great quote. It’s also true of words.

    I like the background colors and the large brush strokes.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Con, me too. This quote can actually be applied to so many things. Not just lines, but brushstrokes, words, shoes, almost anything. Go Pablo.

  3. Con says:

    One of my daughters would disagree with applying the quote to shoes!

    I made a Picasso timeline for my elementary age students when I was teaching. Found an old tattered book on him at a used bookstore and cut out the images, quotes, etc. to make a timeline of his life and art with everything on separate cards so the timeline could be assembled again and again by each student. (Not my original idea, assembling timelines are a Montessori method of teaching just about anything that can be timelined.)

  4. jj says:

    its not true about the fewer the lines the more important each line – coz I got it as a tattoo and at first the guy forgot one line (the first ‘h’ looked like ‘n’) !

Comments are closed.