Cowboy stuff

Here in Denver, January means National Western Stock Show and Rodeo.  So now in honor of that, I’m creating my take on all things cowboy, horses, or western something. 

There’s a couple of reasons why I like doing these subjects which I’ll expound upon in the next few posts.  Here’s an example of one reason: there’s just something attractive about the shape of a cowboy hat.  Maybe it’s when the lights and shadows show the undulating curves.  I just like the form (and if there’s a cool cowboy underneath, well, so the better!).

For the last few months, I’ve been working pretty small (usually 8″x10″)  This one is huge in comparison.  Pretty fun to use really big brushes!

Cowboy Hat #5
18″x24″
oil on panel

Cowboy Hat #5

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado, My Art, Painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cowboy stuff

  1. Con says:

    The white hat, that’s the good guy, right? Looks good to me, you captured the soft look of the felt and got the tilt just right making him a bit mysterious. Love it.

  2. julie says:

    woah, crazy art.

    i found this other crazy cool wall art…

    http://www.letterperspectives.com

Comments are closed.