Resolutions

Alas, this is the time of year when Resolutions come up.  Resolutions (or, I just see them as Goals) are funny things; you either love ’em and live by them or your hate them and avoid.  

I’m in the first group in that I have them all the time about both personal and professional life.  Having been a Special Ed teacher for 10 years and having written a bazillion sets of Goals/Objectives for student IEP’s, it’s second nature to me to make them.  I like having the extra spur to get the task accomplished and being able to check off a list when completed.

By my defintion (forget Webster, if they’re my resolutions, my definition is the only one :D that counts) , a resolution is two fold: 1) finding another solution to a long-standing problem —“re-solution” or “re-solving”, and 2) doing so with resolve, or determination and a purposeful result in mind.

And you can’t figure out where you want to go until you figure out where you’ve been and review last year’s accomplishments.  I’m off to do just that.  Enjoy a wonderful start to 2008!

So it’s not the Chinese New Year, but a new year none the less.  A nice day for take out.
New Year’s Take Out (sold)
8″x10″
oil on panel 

 New Year's Take Out

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, My Art, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Resolutions

  1. wrjones says:

    That is just too complicated – I plan on staying on the path of eating Snickers and drinking Pepsi One.

    What was in that box you painted? Did you eat while you painted? You would have to be careful not to move the box otherwise the painting will be blurry.

    Is one of your resolutions to eat out more?

  2. Tracy says:

    New resolutions would not include omitting my favorites: Oreos and Plain M&M’s. Diet Coke? Take it or leave it.

    This is an older painting of a chinese food container, empty when I painted it. Unfortunately it’s not a stop action, I just took a blurry picture. (Maybe I didn’t want to get the tripod out at the time.)

    You know, I haven’t thought about it as a resolution, but I have thought I’d like to visit local restaurants. You know, the one’s you pass every day, but have never stopped in. That’ll be a fun resolution!

  3. Melissa says:

    Hmmm, re solutions. Days go by me without the structure that most people give. I’m often a day or two off, “Today is Tuesday?” “It’s been three YEARS?”

    So the love them or hate them kind of drifts on by me also, maybe I’m immersed in a neutral grey mud.

    OK, keep painting!

    Mm

Comments are closed.