In the Nick of Time

I made my goal by about 30 minutes, or close enough to meet it “in the spirit in which it was made.”  My goal last Wednesday was to complete 3 small pieces by midnight Mt. time Sunday (tonight).  I’ve gotten two and 3/4 done.

I wanted to get a few new ones added to my “coffee” show at Wild Oates in Glendale.  I set up a still life with interesting backlit compositions.  Turns out the dark mug and all those shadows plus the dark coffee were too much.  Had to lighten it.  So I dumped the coffee and poured the milk. 

Here’s the first of 3 “Milk Mugs”.  This blue one was actually the 3rd that I did, but I really like it.  It just flowed off the brush so easily; practically painted itself!  I love it when it does that.

Milk Mug on Blue
10″x8″
oil on panel

Milk Mug on Blue

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in My Art, Painting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the Nick of Time

  1. Con Daily says:

    I love the color! I like the ‘morning light’ look with the deep shadows. Happy it went so well, nice for work to flow, isn’t it?

    What’s next? Eggnog? With a sprinkle of nutmeg? Or frothy hot milk like the coffeeshops whip up for lattes? When I make a homemade latte, I just whisk the hot milk. It might make an interesting painting for your series.

    Now you got me started! I have to go make a coffee!

  2. kkrullrobart says:

    Love the mugs, and am totally impressed with your commitment and ability to get 3 pieces and 2 blog entries done in a week. I need to learn some of that discipline. I like Con’s idea of eggnog with nutmeg – or my personal favorite: hot cocoa with a peppermint stick to stir it.

  3. Tracy says:

    Thanks Con, Karen! I think I’m starting to recognize how I can tap into “the zone” a little more consistently. Ooooh, I like the cocoa/peppermint idea! Not only tasty, but good visuals, too. I also think there’s some wine in my artistic future!

  4. Well, how could you resist wine, when the color can be so beautiful? I’m very impressed by your motivation — I’m lucky to get down there once a week right now. Maybe it’ll be easier now that the big T-day dinner is over! In fact, maybe tomorrow a.m. I’ll sneak down, now that you’ve inspired me, too.

Comments are closed.