Time keeps ticking….

“There is usually an inverse proportion between how much something is on your mind and how much it’s getting done.” –David Allen, author Getting Things Done
“To achieve great things, two things are needed: a plan, and not quite enough time.” — Leonard Bernstein, conductor

 I constantly struggle with the competition of my time between studio time (art), other work time (admin time, massage biz), and everyday life (errands, etc)  time.  To those with kids and a spouse I imagine this sounds pretty lame; what can I say.  All I know, is that I don’t seem to have enough active time in the studio.

Brian Tracy espouses, “set clear priorities……discipline yourself to start on your most important task and stay on that until it is complete.”

Lisa Call, art blogger extraordinaire, has talked about this recently and it’s still on my mind.

I work pretty well with impending deadlines, but it’s when I have a while until the next show that I have trouble focusing my time.  I always have seasonal/monthly goals, and live by daily to-do lists.  Have I missed the middle man?  This week, I’ll try a weekly goal: I’ve committed to getting 3 pieces done (small, but done) and 2 blog entries.  (here’s one)  By Sunday at midnight.  On my mark …….. get set ………………. GO!   Check back to see my status.

In the meantime, I just put up my coffee mug theme show in another venue; stop into the Wild Oats in Glendale and take a peek if you like.  Here’s another mug I didn’t put up here earlier.  I loved how the spoon offers reflections inside the mug.

White Mug and Spoon (private collection)
8″x10″
pastel

White Mug and Spoon

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, My Art, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time keeps ticking….

  1. joy Schultz says:

    So it took me a while to finally subscribe to this new blog of yours, and when I come back I am sooooooooooooooooooooooo impressed. Your painting is evolving with leaps and bounds I think. I love the white mug and spoon, love the pumpkins–you have given yourself some big permission to use intense purple, and I love your baseball compositions.
    Plus…. you’re keeping up with this blog. And keeping in touch with the world….
    I am inspired, Ms Wall. You just keep it up, ya hear!

  2. Con Daily says:

    Never enough time, and I’m like you, get more done with a looming deadline. Your baseball paintings are interesting and the mug with spoon perfect for your cup ‘o series. Way to go! You are getting more done than you realize and it’s all good. Don’t worry too much about the clock.

  3. Tracy says:

    Thanks Joy! Yes, I’m a little surprised that I’ve stayed pretty current here. What’s the saying? Something like “the busier you are, the more things you can add on top”?

    Thanks Con, too! I’m starting to wean myself from the clock, though my other biz is very time dependent. I’m trying to impose my own deadline to encourage me to step it up. Just wait, I’ve got a couple more mugs on the way. Stay tuned!

  4. stella says:

    I’m 17, still in high schoool and recently took up some foundation art lessons to build up my drawing skills since before I only drew free hand without any ‘real’ knowledge of really knowing HOW to draw. My teacher is making me draw mugs for homework as practice and I came across your site. I love how the water looks with the spoon in the mug with it. It’s actually quite cute. :)

  5. Tracy says:

    Thanks Stella. Keep on drawing!!

Comments are closed.