Not Really Slacking

Ok, I guess it’s not really slacking, but more about fear of change.  When I’m trying some new things (new media, new style, new technique, new subjects) being unsure of things, I all of the sudden get timid.  I suddenly find reason to clean the blinds, wipe shelves in the refrigerator, etc.  It’s all about conquering the fear. 

I mean, what are we really afraid of? 
Somebody laughing? Then, good!  Made them smile!  Judgemental opinions? As Nanny used to say, “That’s what makes it a horse race.”

Speaking of horses….
Trying to work my way through learning to use oils.  I love the feel of them, but still learning with each painting.  Taking away variables, I return to a subject I’ve done alot: horses.  Playing upon the aerial view I’ve been doing lately, here’s a horse, of course.

White Horse 12:00  (private collection)
15″x4″
oil on panel

00

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, My Art, Painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Really Slacking

  1. What a beautiful painting and I love what you had to say in, “Not Really Slacking”. I can so relate. What a great and fun way to capture a horse. :) Congratulations on your new blog page. Love, Elania

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Elania!

Comments are closed.