Me in a shoe store

Me in the shoe store taking a picture of my pants.

It was a usual Saturday, and I had spent the day painting at Abend Gallery.  Afterwards, I ran a few errands before heading home.

Walking through a local mall, it can be hard for me NOT to stop into a shoe store as I pass by.  So I did.  Walked into a Steve Madden store just to see what they had.

A little hard to see, so I've pointed out the distress.  :)

A little hard to see, so I’ve pointed out the distress. :)

As I entered, staff approached, but not with the usual, “can I help you find something?”  Instead, “OMG, where did you get those jeans?  I LOVE them!!”

Huh?  The jeans in question were my usual faded Levi’s with marred with dabs of paint on them.  My usual “paint pants”.

Turns out the “distressed” look is quite popular these days, and paint schmears help make them that way.  Who knew?

Maybe I’m painting on the wrong type of cotton canvas.  : )

