Creating art is unfortunately just a part of the whole job of a full-time artist. <sigh>  There’s scads of other business practices that don’t come to mind when you’re steering your own ship, many of which are not my strong suit.  I have a lot to work on in this area, but can’t do everything all at once, so I’m limiting myself to a few areas that can have the most impact on business success.  None of these are ideal measurable goals, but still give me cause to assess.

Things to do before the year is done besides creating art:

–> increase live exhibits: didn’t do many in the first five months of the year as I wanted to take my work in a different direction (see previous post).  Hard to exhibit when you’re not yet confident in the work, but there’s no sense creating the work to just sit in my basement.  Action(s): seek more exhibition opportunities — did an outdoor art festival in June, part of a group exhibition all summer, and potential juried exhibitions coming up after Labor Day, and another outdoor Art Festival in September.  (stay tuned!)

–>  update marketing on-line venues, want to take advantage of internet commerce and viral marketing to get my name and work out there more.   Action(s): updated website in July, more consistent blog posts, created a Facebook Artist Fan Page, update my Etsy sale page, joined Daily Painters of Colorado.  <whew!>  Now that I’m painting more, this means more updates!

–>  improve the efficiency of my bookkeeping Action(s): get a consistent method of documenting my work, vital statistics, it’s location and ownership.  Now that I’m at that place of needing it (i.e. more works to document), I need to review the materials I got from an excellent class from Alyson Stanfield’s ArtBizCoach: Get Organized!

–> update my current mailing list This is a list of my patrons as well as those who have expressed an interest in keeping current with the work I’m doing.  I haven’t updated this in way too long.  (Again, thanks Alyson!)  Action:  Get busy. (stop dillydallying)

–> improve time management.  Used to wait to paint until I had a significant block of uninterrupted time. (who has that?)  Action:  document time in the studio as well as time spent in the office doing above tasks.  time management = work completion

Again for this one I used a limited palette of colors: dioxazine violet and cadmium yellow medium, plus titanium white (oh, and used a little ultramarine blue and terre verte (green) to get the super dark values).  I’m also finding the use of glass in my still lifes to get a soft reflection interesting too!

Unrolling (sold)
9″ x 12″
oil on panel  $110

sm 09 Unrolling(c)TracyWall

